In this post we look at the best 10 Accounting qualifications to boost your CV. Boosting your curriculum vitae as an accountant requires taking up some professional courses.

It is important if you are looking for a new position in your organization or a rise in your salary level. There are a lot of accounting certifications that could be helpful.

10 Accounting qualifications

The following are a list of 10 accounting qualifications to boost your cv:


ICAN is an abbreviation for the Institute of chartered Accountants of Nigeria. It is a professional body established in September 1 1965 by the act of parliament number 15.

It has two sub heads which is
*Accounting Technician Scheme: Held twice in a year mostly during March and September. It has three stages; Ats 1, 2 and 3. You may be exempted from ATS 1 and 2 if you already have a degree in accounting.
*Professional Examination: The professional examination also has three stages; Intermediate, P.E 1 and P.E 2. Examinations hold twice a year too during May and November. You will be certified as a chartered accountant if you qualify and pass this stage.


ANAN is the Association of National Accountants of Nigeria. It is a chartered professional accountancy body in Nigeria empowered by law to teach as well as examine all its students. The Association was established chartered by Decree 76 of 1993 on the 25th day of August 1993.
Eligible to apply are accounting graduates with B.Sc or HND from Nigerian universities and polytechnics. All students aspiring to be members of the association must attend the Nigerian college of Accountancy in preparation for the Association’s examination programme. The programme consists of five papers at professional examination A1 (PEA) and six papers at professional examination B1 (PEB).
For more information, please visit:


ACCA is the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants. It is an international body and the largest and fastest growing accounting body in over 165 countries. The ACCA qualification is recognised and treated as being equivalent to other local qualifications.
The examinations are held four times in a year which are, March, June, September and December. You must pass all 14 examinations but with an accounting degree, you will be exempted from some of the examinations. For each sitting, you can attempt a maximum of 4 papers and all examinations must be completed within a period of ten years.

The examinations are held in countries across the world.
For more information, please visit:


CIMA is an abbreviation for Chartered Institute of Management Accountants. It is the world’s professional body of management accountants. Its aim is to establish management accounting as the most valued profession in business worldwide.
A CIMA qualification added to your CV can give you an edge over others in 5job market. It also increases your chances of attaining a senior position in your organisation making you earn more.

The examination stages are 12 in number which consists of 9 objective tests taking 3 at each level and three integrated case studies, and you’re to take one at each level.
For more details, click on:

5. CMA

Certified Management Accountants (CMA) is an accounting or finance specialist. If you want to advance or take your career to the next level, then CMA is the way to go.
It is mostly preferred by mid-level accountants and is suitable for working professionals. You must obtain a Bachelor’s Degree in Accounting, Finance or Economics to be eligible to apply.
The examination has two parts and a two-year working relevant experience. The examination parts can be taken as single part or together and must be completed within 3 years of starting the program.

6. CPA

Certified Public Accountants is from the Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Nigeria launched on the 1st of May 1998. The organization is a professional association of Nigerian citizens.

It is an examining body highly regarded in Nigeria for accountants. It takes care of the shortage of professional accountants in the public and private sector of the Nigerian financial system.

7. CIA

The Certified internal auditors is the only globally accepted designation for internal auditors. Earning the CIA designation is a valuable accomplishment and a professional advantage for auditors at all stages of their careers including audit managers, audit staff, chief audit executives, risk management staff.
It is a three part examination and the required standard for individuals to demonstrate their professionalism in the internal auditing field.


The Chartered Financial Analyst program is a professional credential offered internationally. The program covers a broad range of topics relating to investment management, financial analysis etc.
The CFA measures the competence and integrity of financial analyst. Candidates are required to pass three levels of examination covering areas such as accounting, economics, ethics, money management and security analysis.
You must have four years of investment /financial career experience and must hold a relevant Bachelor’s Degree. It has three stages of its examination.
Level one which is offered only twice in a year in June and December. Level two offered only once in a year in June and level three also offered once in a year in June. It takes an average of four years to earn the designation.

9. Masters in Finance

One of the ways to boost your curriculum vitae as an accountant is to get a masters degree in Finance. It is a postgraduate program preparing students for careers in Finance. A master in Finance will grant you understanding of accounting analysis in a local and international context. After successfully completing the degree, you will become a high quality commodity to corporations everywhere.

10. AAT

The Association of Accounting Technicians is a professional body for vocational accountants. It gives you practical, internationally recognised finance and accounting skills that can boost your curriculum vitae.
To apply, you don’t need a previous qualification or work experience. AAT qualifications are highly respected sign of commitment and excellence in the industry.
While some can completed within a period of one to two years, others require a longer period of time to complete and may require specific years of working experience.

Leave a Reply